Center for Business & Management of the Arts

Southern California’s only academic center dedicated to graduate education in the business and management of arts and culture.

CGU’s Center for Business & Management of the Arts places you at the heart of Los Angeles’s arts and cultural offerings. Our four master’s degrees (MA in Art Business, MA in Arts Management, MA in Art Business & Information Systems and Technology, MA in Art Business & Fine Art) and myriad extracurricular opportunities will challenge you to understand and imagine anew the operations and intersections of the civic, commercial, nonprofit, and philanthropic worlds of international arts and culture.

Programs


 

Request Info

Loading...
Connect with CBMArts

Join us at an upcoming event, or follow us on social media to learn more about how our students and graduates are making their mark in Los Angeles and elsewhere.

Instagram: @cbmarts_cgu
Facebook: CBMArts.CGU

 

CBMArts Webinars

View all webinars in our LA Arts in the Age of Corona series, a twice-weekly conversation hosted by CBMArts with arts leaders and artists about how the current coronavirus pandemic is changing the way we work and engage with arts, culture, politics, and each other.

View Webinars

Loading...

An emphasis on entrepreneurship and hands-on practice.

Our programs are built around curriculum sequences in cultural programming, entrepreneurship, art markets, fundraising, and curating. As a CBMArts student, you will be charged with creating new ventures, new exhibitions, new initiatives, and new knowledge, all of which is presented in public forums where it is assessed and tested against the challenges facing artists, institutions, and their audiences today.

Take a look at the current and past courses offered by CBMArts:

CBMArts Course Descriptions

exterior shot of The Reef building in DTLA

Learn at the center of L.A. arts & culture

Find yourself in the center of the thriving arts and culture landscape of Los Angeles and get unparalleled access to its diverse leaders and institutions. Work with faculty from L.A.’s professional arts community in addition to CGU faculty from the Drucker School of Management, School of Arts & Humanities, and Information Systems & Technology.

Alumni Creators

“The best way to predict the future is to create it.” –Peter F. Drucker

Our alumni are creating the future of arts and culture in Southern California. Below are just a handful of organizations, initiatives, and businesses that got their start in our programs:

The Arts Area – John Machado (Arts Management ’16), Founder and CEO

Ochi Projects – Pauli Ochi (Art Business ’14), Founder

The Arc – Tiffany Malkin (Art Business ’15), Founder

The Fortissima Fellowship – Jazmin Morales (Arts Management ’17), Creator

Curator Love – Erika Hirugami (Art Business ’15), Founder

Start Art Legal – Jacob Janzen (Art Business ’16), Founder

The Nou Project – Nour Al Tamimi (Art Business ’14), Founder

Alumni Spotlight

Learn the ins and outs of the museum world in our interview with CBMArts alumna Victoria Gerard, the Vice President of Collections and Special Exhibitions at the Bowers Museum.
 

Travel Opportunities

All CBMArts students participate in field study travel, which introduces students to emerging and established art markets, and provides behind the scenes access to artists, art businesses, arts organizations, and leaders in the field. The trips are designed to accelerate the formation of international networks and ensure familiarity with the complexity of the international arts landscape.

Past global destinations include:

  • Singapore
  • Hong Kong
  • Shanghai
  • Beijing
  • Seoul
  • Tokyo
  • Mexico City

Past destinations within LA include:

  • Institute of Contemporary Art, LA
  • Museum of Contemporary Art, LA
  • The Broad
Core Faculty

The Center’s faculty are renowned experts in arts and culture management and markets–both as academics and practitioners. Many courses are led by the arts professionals, creatives, and artists who are driving change in Los Angeles and beyond. Additional faculty are drawn from CGU’s Drucker School of Management, Center for Information Systems & Technology, School of Arts & Humanities, and Museum Leadership Institute.

Jonathan T.D. Neil profile image

Jonathan T.D. Neil

Director, Center for Business & Management of the Arts

Laura Zucker profile image

Laura Zucker

Interim Head of Arts Management
Associate Director, Center for Business & Management of the Arts

Kibum Kim profile image

Kibum Kim

Program Director, Art Business

Alma Ruiz profile image

Alma Ruiz

Senior Fellow, Center for Business & Management of the Arts

 

Affiliated Faculty


Joshua Goode

Associate Professor of Cultural Studies and History
Chair, History Department

Email
joshua.goode@cgu.edu

Carmine Iannaccone

Adjunct Professor of Art

Email
Art.Dept@cgu.edu

Melody Kanschat

Executive Director, Museum Leadership Institute

Email
melody.kanschat@cgu.edu

Rachel Lachowicz

Professor of Studio Art

Email
rachel.lachowicz@cgu.edu

Lorne Olfman

Professor
Director, Center for Information Systems & Technology

Email
lorne.olfman@cgu.edu

David Pagel

Professor of Art Theory and History
Chair, Art Department
Roland Reiss Endowed Chair in Art

Email
david.pagel@cgu.edu

Jay Prag

Clinical Full Professor

Email
jay.prag@cgu.edu

Hovig Tchalian

Assistant Professor of Practice

Email
hovig.tchalian@cgu.edu

James Wallace

Associate Professor of Accounting

Email
james.wallace@cgu.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty


Leticia Buckley

Senior Civic Strategist, The Music Center

Email
leticia.buckley@cgu.edu

Steven Chen

Professor of Marketing, CSU Fullerton

Email
steven.chen@cgu.edu

Samantha Culp

Writer / Curator / Producer / Creative Strategist, Netflix

Email
samantha.culp@cgu.edu

Jessica Cusick

President, Cusick Consulting

Email
jessica.cusick@cgu.edu

Letitia Fernandez-Ivins

Creative Services Manager, LA Metro

Email
letitia.ivins@cgu.edu

Rachel Fine

Executive Director/CEO, The Wallis Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts

Email
rachel.fine@cgu.edu

Kim Glann

Cross-Sector Manager, LACDAC

Email
kimberly.glann@cgu.edu

Lela Hersh

Senior Lecturer of Arts Administration & Policy, SAIC - Art Advisor / Curator / Appraiser, ISA

Email
lela.hersh@cgu.edu

Bronwyn Mauldin

Director of Research & Evaluation, LACDAC

Email
bronwyn.mauldin@cgu.edu

John McGuirk

Senior Fellow, Community Foundation of Sonoma County

Email
john.mcguirk@cgu.edu

Kavior Moon

Liberal Arts Faculty, SCI-Arc

Email
kavior.moon@cgu.edu

Rebecca Norris

Independent Researcher, Collection Specialist

Email
rebecca.norris@cgu.edu

Rosemary Ringwald

Managing Director, U.S. Trust, Bank of America Private Wealth Management

Email
rosemary.ringwald@cgu.edu

Christopher S. Reed

Senior Vice President of Intellectual Property, Fox Corporation

Email
christopher.reed@cgu.edu

Ed Schad

Curator & Publications Manager,
The Broad

Email
edward.schad@cgu.edu

Robin Sukhadia

Major Gifts Officer, The Colburn School

Email
robin.sukhadia@cgu.edu

Irene Tsatsos

Director of Exhibition Programs / Chief Curator, Armory Center for the Arts

Email
irene.tsatsos@cgu.edu

Kejia Wu

Columnist, Financial Times China

Email
kejia.wu@cgu.edu