The Master’s program in Arts Management offered in Los Angeles equips you with the tools to create, facilitate, and evaluate work in the visual and performing arts.

With applied skills in administration, finance, and programming, graduates of the Arts Management program emerge prepared for fulfilling careers in nonprofits and social enterprise, public agencies and foundations, arts collectives, and creative communities.

The MA in Arts Management program provides you unparalleled access to diverse leaders and institutions in LA’s thriving arts and cultural scene. Faculty from L.A.’s professional arts community complement the expertise of scholars from the School of Arts & Humanities, and the Museum Leadership Institute.

Program Highlights
  • Core courses provide a foundation in business and management skills essential to careers in the creative industries.
  • The personalized, seminar-style learning environment begins with coursework in art management dynamics, public policy, evaluation, marketing and communications, fundraising, and strategic planning. The core is fortified by elective courses and extracurricular programs that speak to your passions and career goals.
  • Attend in-person classes, events, and programs in downtown Los Angeles.
  • You also benefit from access to the full curriculum of the MA in Art Business.

Program At a Glance

UNITS
40 units

ESTIMATED COMPLETION TIME
3 semesters

COURSES BEGIN
Fall | Spring

DEGREE AWARDED
MA in Arts Management

Featured Courses

ARMGT 300
Arts Organization Dynamics

Introduces students to careers in arts administration and demystifies the various domains, genres, and scales of work advanced by arts management professionals. Provides a broad overview of the discipline while immersing students in the arts ecosystem of Los Angeles, a global city. Includes critical reading and writing, group discussion, presentations, guest speakers, and site visits.

ARMGT 350
Theory & Practice of Institutional Leadership

Explores the theories, processes, and practices behind strategic planning and decision making in arts organizations, including management strategies, business plans, fundraising, human resources, facilities, and program development.

ARMGT 351
Arts & Cultural Policy

Provides an understanding of the importance of cultural policy and how it influences cultural production, consumption, and other forms of participation in the arts in the U.S., with an emphasis
on how cultural policy is developed and implemented at the local government level.

ARTBUS/ARMGT 321
Arts Marketing & Communications

Introduces key marketing concepts, theories, and practical applications through an analysis of relevant case studies, readings, lectures, and discussions, teaching students to think strategically and proactively about marketing problems.

ARTBUS/ARMGT 366
Anatomy of an Arts Event

Takes students through the anatomy of successful arts events, performances, and festivals and explores the context in which they take place. Discusses key marketing and positioning tactics to raise institutional visibility and strategic measures to attract significant revenue.

ARTBUS/ARMGT 377
Curatorial Practice

Learn the function and role of the contemporary curator through a year-long cycle of the hands-on planning, mounting, and managing of a contemporary art exhibition in Los Angeles.

View All Courses

Field Study

Field study travel introduces students to emerging and established art markets, and provides behind the scenes access to artists, art businesses, arts organizations, and leaders in the field. The trips are designed to accelerate the formation of international networks and ensure familiarity with the complexity of the international arts landscape.

View recent international itineraries:

Past global destinations include:

  • Singapore
  • Hong Kong
  • Shanghai
  • Beijing
  • Seoul
  • Tokyo
  • Mexico City

Past destinations within LA include:

  • Institute of Contemporary Art, LA
  • Museum of Contemporary Art, LA
  • The Broad
Capstone Sequences

Every CBMArts student completes a capstone sequence, which is the culmination of your degree, synthesizing everything that you have learned throughout the program. It is also designed as a bridge to your professional life, serving as a powerful demonstration of the skills you’ve developed at CGU as you enter or continue your work in the arts and cultural field. Each capstone sequence comprises both course work and a final project or deliverable that stems from your own intellectual and creative pursuits.

Students in the Art Business and Arts Management programs may complete their degree requirements through any sequence below. (At this time, interfield students are required to follow the Entrepreneurship Sequence.)

Core Faculty

Jonathan T.D. Neil profile image

Jonathan T.D. Neil

Director, Center for Business & Management of the Arts

Kibum Kim profile image

Kibum Kim

Program Director, Art Business

Laura Zucker profile image

Laura Zucker

Interim Head of Arts Management
Associate Director, Center for Business & Management of the Arts

Alma Ruiz profile image

Alma Ruiz

Senior Fellow, Center for Business & Management of the Arts

 

Affiliated Faculty


Joshua Goode

Associate Professor of Cultural Studies and History
Chair, History Department

Email
joshua.goode@cgu.edu

Carmine Iannaccone

Adjunct Professor of Art

Email
Art.Dept@cgu.edu

Melody Kanschat

Professor of Practice in Arts Management

Email
melody.kanschat@cgu.edu

Rachel Lachowicz

Professor of Studio Art

Email
rachel.lachowicz@cgu.edu

Lorne Olfman

Professor
Director, Center for Information Systems & Technology

Email
lorne.olfman@cgu.edu

David Pagel

Professor of Art Theory and History
Chair, Art Department
Roland Reiss Endowed Chair in Art

Email
david.pagel@cgu.edu

Jay Prag

Clinical Full Professor

Email
jay.prag@cgu.edu

Hovig Tchalian

Assistant Professor of Practice

Email
hovig.tchalian@cgu.edu

James Wallace

Associate Professor of Accounting

Email
james.wallace@cgu.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty


Leticia Buckley

Senior Civic Strategist, The Music Center

Email
leticia.buckley@cgu.edu

Steven Chen

Professor of Marketing, CSU Fullerton

Email
steven.chen@cgu.edu

Samantha Culp

Writer / Curator / Producer / Creative Strategist, Netflix

Email
samantha.culp@cgu.edu

Jessica Cusick

President, Cusick Consulting

Email
jessica.cusick@cgu.edu

Letitia Fernandez-Ivins

Creative Services Manager, LA Metro

Email
letitia.ivins@cgu.edu

Rachel Fine

Executive Director/CEO, The Wallis Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts

Email
rachel.fine@cgu.edu

Kim Glann

Cross-Sector Manager, LACDAC

Email
kimberly.glann@cgu.edu

Lela Hersh

Senior Lecturer of Arts Administration & Policy, SAIC - Art Advisor / Curator / Appraiser, ISA

Email
lela.hersh@cgu.edu

Bronwyn Mauldin

Director of Research & Evaluation, LACDAC

Email
bronwyn.mauldin@cgu.edu

John McGuirk

Senior Fellow, Community Foundation of Sonoma County

Email
john.mcguirk@cgu.edu

Kavior Moon

Liberal Arts Faculty, SCI-Arc

Email
kavior.moon@cgu.edu

Rebecca Norris

Independent Researcher, Collection Specialist

Email
rebecca.norris@cgu.edu

Rosemary Ringwald

Managing Director, U.S. Trust, Bank of America Private Wealth Management

Email
rosemary.ringwald@cgu.edu

Christopher S. Reed

Senior Vice President of Intellectual Property, Fox Corporation

Email
christopher.reed@cgu.edu

Ed Schad

Curator & Publications Manager,
The Broad

Email
edward.schad@cgu.edu

Robin Sukhadia

Major Gifts Officer, The Colburn School

Email
robin.sukhadia@cgu.edu

Irene Tsatsos

Director of Exhibition Programs / Chief Curator, Armory Center for the Arts

Email
irene.tsatsos@cgu.edu

Kejia Wu

Columnist, Financial Times China

Email
kejia.wu@cgu.edu

Where You Can Find Our Alumni

Request information about the Arts Management program

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Jill Steggall

Assistant Director of Admissions
T: 909-607-7811
E: jill.steggall2@cgu.edu