The Master of Arts in Art Business is designed for both the aspiring and established professional with a passion for the visual arts and a desire to master the market and management dynamics that drive artistic and commercial values today.

The MA in Art Business prepares you for transformative roles in leading art businesses, initiatives, and organizations. Our focus on market dynamics and entrepreneurship gives you the skills and the knowledge to start your own ventures or build on existing ones. And our extensive network of alumni and professional contacts give you access to the people and resources you will need to make meaningful change in the art world and beyond.

We are the only art business graduate program on the west coast and the only program focused on the Pacific Rim, with courses dedicated to East Asian markets and field study trips to Latin America. We are also the only art business graduate program within a fully accredited, non-profit university, which means we are serving an educational mission as opposed to investors.

Program Highlights
  • Study full- or part-time with a flexible structure that includes mixes of online, hybrid, and in-person formats.
  • Begin in either fall or spring semesters.
  • Attend in-person classes, events, and programs in downtown Los Angeles.
  • Work with professional faculty drawn from from LA’s arts and cultural leadership as well scholars from CGU’s Drucker School of Management, School of Arts & Humanities, Center for Information Systems & Technology, and Museum Leadership Institute.
  • Access the full curriculum of the MA in Arts Management.
  • Experience international and domestic field study travel opportunities. Past trips have included Hong Kong for Art Basel, Shanghai, and Mexico City.

Program at a Glance

UNITS
40 units

ESTIMATED COMPLETION TIME
3 semesters

COURSES BEGIN
Fall | Spring

DEGREE AWARDED
MA in Art Business

Featured Courses

ARTBUS 300
Art Market Dynamics

Introduces students to the structures and dynamics of international art markets: the people, places, and institutions responsible for the flow of works around the globe as well as by and through which they gain their value.

ARTBUS 318
Looking at and Writing About Art for Arts Professionals

Practice-based workshop dedicated to writing about the art in all genres and contexts, including artist profiles, wall texts, press releases, critical reviews, and news coverage.

ARTBUS 304B
Appraising Contemporary Art

Learn the methodology of personal property appraisal with an emphasis on contemporary art. Explore the duties of a professional appraiser; different types of appraisals, value and valuation approaches, the challenges specific to appraising contemporary works of art.

ARTBUS/ARMGT 377
Curatorial Practice

Learn the function and role of the contemporary curator through a year-long cycle of the hands-on planning, mounting, and managing of a contemporary art exhibition in Los Angeles.

ARMGT 309
Startup Studio

The capstone to the Art Business entrepreneurship sequence in which teams of students develop and pitch ideas for new ventures to panels of investors and arts and culture leaders.

View All Courses

Field Study

Field study travel introduces students to emerging and established art markets, and provides behind the scenes access to artists, art businesses, arts organizations, and leaders in the field. The trips are designed to accelerate the formation of international networks and ensure familiarity with the complexity of the international arts landscape.

View recent international itineraries:

Past global destinations include:

  • Singapore
  • Hong Kong
  • Shanghai
  • Beijing
  • Seoul
  • Tokyo
  • Mexico City

Past destinations within LA include:

  • Institute of Contemporary Art, LA
  • Museum of Contemporary Art, LA
  • The Broad
Capstone Sequences

Every CBMArts student completes a capstone sequence, which is the culmination of your degree, synthesizing everything that you have learned throughout the program. It is also designed as a bridge to your professional life, serving as a powerful demonstration of the skills you’ve developed at CGU as you enter or continue your work in the arts and cultural field. Each capstone sequence comprises both course work and a final project or deliverable that stems from your own intellectual and creative pursuits.

Students in the Art Business and Arts Management programs may complete their degree requirements through any sequence below. (At this time, interfield students are required to follow the Entrepreneurship Sequence.)

Core Faculty

Jonathan T.D. Neil profile image

Jonathan T.D. Neil

Director, Center for Business & Management of the Arts

Alma Ruiz profile image

Alma Ruiz

Senior Fellow, Center for Business & Management of the Arts

Kibum Kim profile image

Kibum Kim

Program Director, Art Business

Jay Prag profile image

Jay Prag

Clinical Full Professor

Hovig Tchalian profile image

Hovig Tchalian

Assistant Professor of Practice

 

Affiliated Faculty


Joshua Goode

Associate Professor of Cultural Studies and History
Chair, History Department

Email
joshua.goode@cgu.edu

Carmine Iannaccone

Adjunct Professor of Art

Email
Art.Dept@cgu.edu

Melody Kanschat

Professor of Practice in Arts Management

Email
melody.kanschat@cgu.edu

Rachel Lachowicz

Professor of Studio Art

Email
rachel.lachowicz@cgu.edu

Lorne Olfman

Professor
Director, Center for Information Systems & Technology

Email
lorne.olfman@cgu.edu

David Pagel

Professor of Art Theory and History
Chair, Art Department
Roland Reiss Endowed Chair in Art

Email
david.pagel@cgu.edu

James Wallace

Associate Professor of Accounting

Email
james.wallace@cgu.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty


Leticia Buckley

Senior Civic Strategist, The Music Center

Email
leticia.buckley@cgu.edu

Steven Chen

Professor of Marketing, CSU Fullerton

Email
steven.chen@cgu.edu

Samantha Culp

Writer / Curator / Producer / Creative Strategist, Netflix

Email
samantha.culp@cgu.edu

Jessica Cusick

President, Cusick Consulting

Email
jessica.cusick@cgu.edu

Letitia Fernandez-Ivins

Creative Services Manager, LA Metro

Email
letitia.ivins@cgu.edu

Rachel Fine

Executive Director/CEO, The Wallis Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts

Email
rachel.fine@cgu.edu

Kim Glann

Cross-Sector Manager, LACDAC

Email
kimberly.glann@cgu.edu

Lela Hersh

Senior Lecturer of Arts Administration & Policy, SAIC - Art Advisor / Curator / Appraiser, ISA

Email
lela.hersh@cgu.edu

Bronwyn Mauldin

Director of Research & Evaluation, LACDAC

Email
bronwyn.mauldin@cgu.edu

John McGuirk

Senior Fellow, Community Foundation of Sonoma County

Email
john.mcguirk@cgu.edu

Kavior Moon

Liberal Arts Faculty, SCI-Arc

Email
kavior.moon@cgu.edu

Rebecca Norris

Independent Researcher, Collection Specialist

Email
rebecca.norris@cgu.edu

Rosemary Ringwald

Managing Director, U.S. Trust, Bank of America Private Wealth Management

Email
rosemary.ringwald@cgu.edu

Christopher S. Reed

Senior Vice President of Intellectual Property, Fox Corporation

Email
christopher.reed@cgu.edu

Ed Schad

Curator & Publications Manager,
The Broad

Email
edward.schad@cgu.edu

Robin Sukhadia

Major Gifts Officer, The Colburn School

Email
robin.sukhadia@cgu.edu

Irene Tsatsos

Director of Exhibition Programs / Chief Curator, Armory Center for the Arts

Email
irene.tsatsos@cgu.edu

Kejia Wu

Columnist, Financial Times China

Email
kejia.wu@cgu.edu

Request information about the Art Business program

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Jill Steggall

Assistant Director of Admissions
T: 909-607-7811
E: jill.steggall2@cgu.edu